Skip navigation

Travelling to UK after Brexit: So far, no changes expected

Article published
30.1.2020 at 10:33
Suomen passi matkustajan kädessä Helsinki-Vantaalla
The UK will leave the European Union on the 31st of January 2020. So far, Brexit will not bring changes in travelling between EU countries and the UK.

As the UK exits the EU, it will become a non-EU country. However, there will be a transition period of 11 months until the end of 2020. During this transition period, the EU citizens as well as UK citizen will be able to travel to and from the UK as before. Even though the UK will no longer be a part of the EU, it will need to follow EU rules until the end of the year 2020.

At Finavia’s airports, there were almost 1,5 million passengers travelling to and from Great Britain in 2019.

Will Brexit affect the passport control?

The UK has not been a part of the Schengen agreement, so Brexit will not bring changes to the border control process. Passengers travelling to the UK from a Schengen country and passengers entering a Schengen country from the UK will need to go through passport control as before. For more information on border control, please contact the Finnish Border Guard.

Will Brexit bring changes to tax-free shopping?

During the transition period, no changes are expected.

Will Brexit affect the customs clearance?

During the transition period, no changes are expected in the customs clearance. For more information on customs, please contact the Finnish Customs.

Will Brexit affect the transfer process?

The One Stop Security arrangement will be concluded for the UK also after Brexit. The One Stop Security is EU's regulatory framework in which passengers, baggage and cargo arriving into the EU from a non-EU country do not need to be subjected again to security controls when transferring at EU airports.

What changes are to be expected after the transition period?

The final effects of Brexit after the transition period are not yet known. The effects on travelling and aviation industry will be further specified during the year 2020.